Dearest,

I don’t know your name, for I haven’t met you, talked to you, known you. But this letter, it is for you.

You, on the other side of the screen, and other side of the border.

This is to tell you that we’re alike, so alike that Khan Chacha’s kebabs taste the same on both sides.

This is to tell you that you’re beautiful, that you have amazing minarets, and interesting Snapchat stories.

This is to tell you we respect you, that hate was never an option and that love wins in the end.

This is to tell you I’ve heard so much about your country and its people, I wish we knew each other, I wish we were friends.

This is to tell you that if we ever meet, I know there is going to be an overflow of warmth around us.

This is to tell you we like your daily soaps as much as you do, and we like our action heroes as much as you do.

This is to tell you that we’re sorry, for everything we’ve done and haven’t, but should’ve.

This is to tell you that at the end of the day, we want peace as much as you do.

Love from the other side.

