To the guardians of our soul, to the strongest lady in our lives, to the best friend for eternity, to the magic wand of our lives. ~ 🙂
(Also to all my friends out there…)

Dear mom,
I know you care for me, a lot. But that doesn’t imply that you’ll be the one measuring my strides. No mom, you don’t have to. I’m not your little girl anymore. Okay, I’m not a lady yet. But I do know where to draw the line. After all, isn’t that what I’ve been taught all these years? I know I can take care of myself. After all, I’m YOUR daughter, right mom?
Having said that, there are some things which I would like you to know. Like, I do love you mom, you needn’t worry about that. I may not keep saying that to you all day throughout, but that doesn’t mean I’m not grateful to you for showing me this beautiful world. I may not like Mohammed Rafi songs as much as I love Bruno Mars, but it is okay if you play those while on a road trip. Err, mom, you drive really slow, but I’m okay with that too. I may get a hundred likes and compliments on social networking sites, but your ‘You look good’ still makes my day. I may love to wear shorts and jumpsuits, but I still love the churidaar you gifted me on my birthday. KFC may be my favourite food joint, but I still gorge on the aloo paranthas you make every Sunday morning. I may enjoy going out for a movie with my friends, but I still accompany you when you insist. Mom, I know I’m not perfect, and certainly not the best daughter, neither am I the kind of daughter every mother would love to have, but I do try to keep you happy, and that’s something you can be sure of.
I’m not the kind of daughter who’ll plan extravagant surprises on your birthday or on Mother’s Day. Well, actually, I think quite differently than the rest. Why do we have a certain day to show our love for you when we can do it every single moment? Mom, you may think I don’t care much, but that’s not true. And I’ll tell you why. I reply to every single text of yours, even if it means forwarding the same reply every day. I pick up your calls even when we have a fight even though I keep sulking the whole time. Just because you said, I’ve stopped reading romantic novels. Again, just because you said, I’ve cut down on chocolates and coffee. And there’s a list of things I could tell or show you, but I know it’s not really required.
Mom, I’ve grown up. Please stop being insecure. Your daughter is not going anywhere. You should know that I’m not dating yet. And when I do, you are going to be the first person who’ll know. So stop those creepy thoughts of yours. So mom, please stop checking my messages and mails. And mom, the good-looking guy whose picture I’ve saved on my phone, umm, he’s my crush. Well, that’d be a bit difficult explaining it to you, but for now, it’s enough to know that he’s not my boyfriend, and I’m definitely NOT running off with him, or anyone. And yes, if I don’t want to talk to talk about these things, and you know I haven’t, please don’t ask. Because, maybe I don’t feel comfortable sharing it with you. Please don’t think I’m hiding stuff from you, ‘cause I’m not. I just don’t want to trouble you with these silly issues of my imaginary love-life. Mom, tell me one thing; if I can take care of myself when I’m on periods, even though I feel sick the entire day, why can’t I when it comes to the world and its ways?
And yes, mom, I’m not the topper of my class. But that doesn’t necessarily mean I lag behind. I’m just too pre-occupied. You know mom, we should start talking more. I’m sure I’d love to know more about your childhood, your crush, your dreams… And maybe then, you can know about mine too? You may be the only person who knew me even before I was born, but there are things about me you don’t know yet. My favourite ice-cream flavour is butterscotch, not strawberry. I love sketching, though I’m pretty bad at it. I’m tired of my boring old phone; I wish I’d get a new one. Most of my friends have smartphones and boyfriends, and sometimes, just sometimes, I do feel low. At times as such, I write. Not much, not good either, but I do. I’m too lazy to dress up properly, the sole reason why I avoid going to parties, not because I’m shy. I can counsel people really well, though I always fail at implementing the advice myself. I have a lot of friends, most of them loud and noisy, but they’re decent people, mom, misjudged too quickly. And mom, I’m a happy person. Though circumstances have tried to break me, I still stand strong. I try to keep that smile of mine constant, and would love if you did the same, happier still, if I could be the reason behind it. One day I’m going to make you proud, and that’s a promise, mom. And mom, I want you to know this, in the race called life, I still consider you to be the fastest rider.
P.S. Just so you know, you’re the best. I love you.
With all the love of the world,
Big girl for the world, baby girl for you.

